cloudy face prayer

lord this is earth
I am alone
too far from water-
blue we look
from where you gaze on us

we are that colour
not only sky above
but there’s a sea somewhere
that’s running too

I try to catch a glimpse of you
in between the picture-faces made by clouds
they’re only distorted scenes
only suggestions
if I turn my head
I can’t find you there

perhaps in sea
underneath the ocean swirl
I hold my breath and open eyes
once to glimpse
a gliding ray

was it you

do you watch from there
the things that happen
past the break of surf on land
or higher
in the atmosphere surrounding us

and lord
I am alone
too far from water blue
look down on me
once
if you will
show me a cloudy face

© Frank Prem 2016

Daily Prompt – Clouds

3 thoughts on “cloudy face prayer

Leave a Reply

