not I at all

not I at all – recorded on SoundCloud

I danced in the flames
the heat licked all over me
but I did not burn
not at all

I lay down in the stream
the water rose above me
but I did not drown
not at all

I stood in the storm
the wind raved around me
but I was not moved
not at all

I speak to the sun

I listen to the night

I dream this world
in its laughter and its tears
but I do not asleep
not at all

not at all

© Frank Prem 2010

Daily Prompt: Storm

Another piece taken from an unpublished mythologically inspired series of poems inspired from repeat exposures to the work of the late Joseph Campbell, this poem has been recorded and made available on SoundCloud, with my wife Leanne Murphy providing musical accompaniment, recording expertise and final polish.

Leave a Reply

